Any Interaction or Service design camps, short courses, workshops?

Hi everyone,
I’m a new member of ixda.

I’ve been working as a graphic designer for 4 years and recently caught up with Interaction design field. I’m reading books and articles about the discipline and considering Master programs as well. However, before committing myself fully to this career path I want to get a brief yet relevant experience in this field to get a realistic idea about the industry and whether my personality and skillets would fit well.

For that reason, I’m looking for camps, short courses, workshops that ideally cover fundamental of interaction or service design. I’m based in the UK but i’m also open to opportunities in Europe.

I know CIID has summer school but it’s already gone.

Thanks for sharing!

Bora Kim

Hi Bora,

There’s UXcamp coming up in Amsterdam (12 Sept) http://uxcampams.com/.
There are also several courses and workshops here, including the ones organized by IxDA Nederland, but most are in Dutch - guess that’s not an option.

Did you consider online courses? For example: http://careerfoundry.com/courses/how-to-become-a-user-experience-designer

• Yohan

Hi Yohan,

Pity that I can’t understand Dutch. Thanks for suggestions anyway!

“…get a realistic idea about the industry and whether my personality and skillets would fit well.”

Well, my skillets are cast iron, enameled cast iron, all clad, cuisinart… OH!! I think you meant skills… SKILLS :slight_smile: Sorry, couldn’t resist. :->

This is a tough question to answer. I personally went to grad school & got the MS in UXD, BUT… that still doesn’t mean the tech industry will take you seriously. You need to have a portfolio of work that shows the process, not just the end result. This will give everyone an idea of how you approach things. And that is more likely to land you into places with ‘common’ minds.