Evaluating content on a content-heavy site

I’ve got a particularly content-heavy site for doctors and I need to work out what to keep and what to lose.

I have personas and experience maps to help but, not being a subject matter expert myself, I’m looking to propose some research with doctors to better understand the content priorities section-by-section. The only problem is that the content takes a while to read so I’m not sure if face-to-face research sessions are suitable.

How would you structure the research? I’d love to hear any recommendations on methodologies or exercises that will enable good feedback on the content. Thanks.

I’ve worked on similar

You can’t beat a bit of qualitative research with doctors, face to face. Ignore the existing website and find out what they’re doing day to day when they need to access the website. This will give you a starting point and help you at least prioritise what should be on the website.

I’m guessing that doctors need to know lots and lots but what they need to know depends on what they’re doing at any particular time.

What type of content is it?

How did you create the personas and experience maps?

We think we’ve got their goals and content needs sorted and that’s represented in the personas and experience maps I’ve been given.

As we’re a bit further along the process as we just need to validate content that’s included in a site prototype we’ve put together. As this is the case, I’m not quite sure how to make best use of a face-to-face session. I have visions of saying “please spend 15 minutes reading this page and give me your thoughts”, which isn’t something I’ve done before in research. I’ve generally done it with shorter content.

It’s clinical content so, from my perspective, it’s difficult to understand if the language is at the right level of complexity. There are technical terms, but doctors know them so I can’t simplify it as I would with a site for the public.