How designers can work better with developers

I’ve been working in design at a large software company for some 15 years now. At my company, we talk a lot about what developers can do to be more design-minded, and we in the design community spend considerable effort in educating developers about design.

Recently a developer in my company wrote the following post http://experience.sap.com/skillup/how-designers-can-work-better-with-developers/ which sort of turns the topic around. In it, he suggests what designers can do to work better with developers. There are pretty basic suggestions like knowing the technical requirements for artwork (gosh, are there designers really delivering assets or specs in the wrong format?) to precise bug reporting to installing the latest build of the software being developed (oh, how I loath doing that. Guilty as charged on this one.)

I was wondering what your experiences have been and what tips you have on this topic.

1 Like

He’s right.

Design is a team sport. And team collaborate through the mutual appreciation of each other’s workflows.

If you don’t do the things your colleague suggests, then you’re creating friction in their workflow. That’s not going to get them excited to work with you.

Other things including learning how the model-view-controller system works and what the models they are working with are. As designer, you control the view. But you can only manipulate the view through the controllers the developers provide. And the controllers are constrained by the data models. If you don’t understand how the models work, you can’t collaborate.

There are more, but many of them will be dependent on the workflows of the particular development teams. At Center Centre, we’ll have the students work with a variety of development teams throughout the two-year curriculum, so they can learn the differences they’ll encounter and how to adapt.

— Jared

1 Like

I agree with @jmspool, your colleagues post has some great tips.