Is fixed sidebars for social media, contact info etc good UX?

Hi!

I’m a newly graduate and just started working with front-end design and UX. I do not have the most experience with UX in “real life”, obviously, and my boss just asked me if we could have a fixed/sticky sidebar on our website with our business’s contact information. <- We are currently refurbishing our website

I know that fixed navigation bars can enhance the users UX, but I am not sure about fixed sidebars. I personally hate sticky bars, as I feel they are making sites look cluttered… I think that there might be some research on this, but I haven’t found it. I know that fixed navbars usually are good UX, but I have a hunch of that sidebars aren’t.

Therefore I want to ask you if you know of any research papers or what you yourself feel about these sticky sidebars? English is not my native language, as you might understand of my writing. Hope you can understand me well enough to maybe give me your opinion/answer(s). :smile:

Example of sidebar below:
Picture of fixed sidebar

YOU are the designer, not your boss (I presume). What you can do is work with your boss so that he/she is letting you know WHAT they need, not how they need it. So in this case: “we need users to able to contact us easily”. Then you can design the best solution and show him/her how it fulfills that need. And if you can’t find research, see if you can do your own user testing on multiple concepts. Then you have evidence you can argue with.

I guess it depends on the site, but overall I agree that too much sticky stuff makes a mess. If you already have a sticky nav bar, you can find a way of incorporating a contact mechanism in there.