IXD and UXD, which one to choose as career along with graphic design?

Hi friends,

I have been working in web and graphic design industry for more than three years, I have a good understanding of HTML and CSS and some working knowledge of JavaScript.

Since technologies and devices are emerging I want to increase my knowledge and skill, I want your opinions and suggestions about which one I can add with my primary skill of graphic design? Graphic and Interaction Designer or Graphic and User Experience Designer.

Thanks you all for your guidance.

To answer this question, is both easy and confusing. I’m going to stick w/ easy and not over explain why.
Choose UX. Why? It is the title winner for the broadest range of roles and talents.

IxD is the skillset and discipline I think given what you describe is what you need and there are definitely roles out there for Visual Interaction Designers w/ prototyping skills, but if you went for “UX”, you’d be communicating a holistic perspective that more hiring managers would probably understand.

I see more and more openings with the title “Interaction designer” with skills as frontend developer with a bit of UXD. UX is broader for sure, but then A/B testing, User testing (live) and so come in view. This is more the testing not practical side of the job.

Tip: look at job discriptions and see what you like the more. I say: Interaction Designer with focus on Frontend development.

Good Luck!

Many thanks… yeah I have made up my mind to add interaction design as my new skill :slight_smile:

Thanks David, as far as I understood your answer the interaction design is focused on behaviors we put through html5 and javascript, and the user experience is about the entire system of software flow. Am I right?

Many thanks. :slight_smile:

Ya know what, I re-read your question in detail and I don’t think I answered it properly at all.
You are trying to decide between IxD and UX and it’s like choosing between a bagel and bread.