Jumping from print to UX

Does anyone worked as print designer before and jumped into UX? How did you do it? I worked in magazine design for almost nine years until I got fed up of the deteriorating circumstances of traditional publishing. I took a really good and comprehensive course on UX but now that I am starting to apply recruiters tell me I am too senior as a designer for an internship position but too inexperienced (in UX) for a permanent role. Did anyone went through something similar? Would appreciate any advice on how to bridge the two industries.

Hi Hugo, my history is similar to this.

I started in print design in '99. I started learning web design in '01, and gradually transitioned completely into web design by '03. The jobs I had during that transition allowed me to learn web design while I was the Chief Designer for print, because we had a lack of human resources.

With a background in graphic design, I had a natural tendency toward the technical aspects of web design. I was hand-coding HTML, CSS, PHP, JS etc by '03. This technical knowledge helped me get i the door for more technical design roles. My big break was when I took a job as the Creative Director at a UX agency. I learned so much about UX there, from first-hand experience. I wasn’t thinking about it at the time, but this was the perfect way to transition from design to UX.

Now, my CV showed that I had worked at a UX agency. By '05 I was taking IX and UXD contracts based on that experience.

There’s no formal ‘bridge’ between the two, that I know of. As always, learn by doing, and pick a way to get yourself in the UX sphere of work. Just by being in the industry, you’ll learn a lot and gain credibility in that way.