I have some similar to UX background, but key word is similar. Now I
am trying to search for a job as User Researcher, UX Designer, MVT
Analyst.
But I receive a lot of rejections just at the starting stage when I send
resume and portfolio.
So I would be very pleased for some critique of my portfolio site:

ux-simply.com

Hi Sergej,

I gave the ux-simply.com site a look. Seems you’re a very talented designer.

What was missing for me (thinking as a hiring manager): I couldn’t see anything in your work that showed me what you would do for me. You’re making me look through your background, experience, and talents, and making me do all the work to see how you’re useful.

If you think about this, this goes against the process you lay out in your first portfolio exhibit. In that exhibit, You talk about doing research and figuring out key measures for success. Where have you demonstrated that in your portfolio, with relation to any job you might be applying for?

I recommend you look into an performance-based hiring technique, like the one that Lou Adler describes in the Essential Guide for Hiring and Getting Hired. In that, you’ll see that a generic résumé and portfolio won’t help you land jobs, which sounds like it matches up with the experience you’re currently having.

Hope that helps,

Jared

2 Likes

Hi Jared ,
Thank you very much for your response.
Yes now I am working on practical demonstration of UX process.
Is it what you mean that needs to be demonstrated?

This was a question recently asked over at stackexchange.

Yes, you can clearly build a website but I found it very hard making a picture of you because there’s just too much information on your site.

What I would like to see is something like:

“I am a uxer with x years experience” and then a small number of case studies where you illustrate how you solved a problem with your ux skillz and what the outcome was. That’s what I want.

best

C