Portfolio advice

Hi everyone

I’m a UX Design Team Leader in the UK with around 2.5 years experience.

I am looking to build my portfolio site for future opportunities. The issue is that I have only ever worked for one company in this role and there is obviously a lot of IP protection. So I can only talk about publically released projects. I am also looking at showcasing other skills and running a ‘fake’ project to show my process.

However, although I know some HTML and JAVA I am not a web developer. Do you think I can ‘get away’ with a wordpress site for my portfolio. Obviously if I had a bespoke site that would benefit me. But would a wordpress site negatively affect my opportunities?

Thanks for your time :smile:

Are you wondering about using a pre-built Wordpress theme for your site? Or just using Wordpress in general?

When I’ve hired UI/UX designers in the past, I haven’t cared that they use Wordpress as the underlying platform, yet I’ve always looked to see whether they are using a pre-built theme, created a child theme, or designed a theme from scratch. It’s not that it counts against them per-se–I’ve hired junior designers who used Behance too–it’s just that it shows a little extra initiative or thoughtfulness, not to mention a “maker” mindset that they want something more than a “default” solution.

As for the content of the portfolio itself, that’s great that you’re documenting your process on your “fake project”. I get a much better sense of a designer’s thinking via blog posts or a written description of why they did what they did than just some finalized comps that look really nice but don’t reveal much about the designer and her approach to solving problems.