Question about User Centered Design in combination with prioritizing requirements

I’m not sure if this is the right topic. If this is not the case then it should just be changed to another part of the discussion board.

Hopefully someone can help me with this issue. I’m a student graduating in Holland.

A while ago I conducted some research with the User Centered Design “method”. Various requirements were brought to the surface by customers, the business and my own experience for a new application.

I’ve read articles on the internet and read a couple of stories about prioritizing requirements with various techniques but non mentioned the imput of my own research (there was only the stakeholders imput on requirements).

Now my plan is to: ask a few members in the company to prioritize the requirements. They all have a 1 “score” for a Must or a Should. As a researcher I want my own opinion to count double for the design I’m making. If a score (on 3 employees) and me is more / or 4 (max. is 5) then I’ll implement the Must-Have or the Should have. Is this a “correct” method and can or is it proven acceptable?

Any good help would be very much appreciated.

Why should your opinion count double? Shouldn’t everyone’s opinion count double?

Hello jmspool. My opinion should count double because I conducted the research with the customers. In other words (as my teacher says) I should know best what the customers want because I did the research.

He (my teacher) says that I should only prioritize and discuss with the company the requirements and that I’m the “expert”. I look at the whole picture as a rather more democratic process.

I think your “opinion” isn’t any more valuable than anyone else’s, so should count the same. I think your teacher has misled you.

If you did research, then you have observations. Those aren’t opinions.

Having observations doesn’t make you an expert. It just makes you the person who has the research observations.